La Union

La Union was carved from the nine towns of Pangasinan, three of Ilocos Sur and villages of the Eastern Pais del Igorotes in the Cordilleras. It was formally created by a Royal Decree issued by Queen Isabela of Spain on April 18, 1854. The name La Union indicates the union of towns from different provinces.

Spanish colonizers saw a thriving community when they arrived in La Union in 1572. The area was then a dynamic trading center especially for gold for Japanese and Chinese merchants.

The Augustinians were the first missionaries to build towns along the coast and converted the residents to Christians. The region became a base for the Spanish colonizers to exploit the gold mines in the uplands. In 1661, Andres Malong of Pangasinan tried to snatch La Union from the Spaniards but was later defeated at Agoo.

In the late 1700s, Ilocano immigrants moved to the region to look for greener pastures thus becoming the majority.

La Union is also known as the Surfing Capital of the North, which is not only famous to locals but also to international Surfers. The San Juan beach is said to have the perfect waves in the region and is good for surfing from November to Febuary. Surfing is not the only activity out there at La Union, there are a lot of places to visit  like the Shrine of Our Lady Namacpacan, La Union Botanical Gardens, Museo de La Union & Pindangan ruins which will give tourists a taste of Philippine Culture.